Condolences on former ASNE president's passing

The American Society of News Editors is saddened to share that former ASNE President William (Bill) A. Hilliard, pioneering black journalist who championed diversity, passed away Jan. 16, 2017. He was 89. 

ASNE revamps membership structure to focus on digital media, leaders at all levels

Columbia, Mo. (Oct. 4, 2016) -- The American Society of News Editors today announced significant changes to its membership structure to emphasize digital media and embrace newsroom leaders at all levels of U.S. news organizations.

ASNE wants to showcase your news operations, send your photos now!

ASNE members are welcome to display their newsroom photos in the top banner at Submit a photo in JPEG format (maximum height: 380 pixels) to, and get it featured on our homepage! 

Take advantage of three ASNE membership benefits

ASNE membership comes with a range of benefits, but we'd like you to be especially aware of the following three that are relatively new: 1. ASNE Newsroom Leaders Facebook group 2. Free space to showcase your news organizations 3. ASNE Job Board

Review recently proposed changes to ASNE Bylaws

The ASNE Bylaws were first constructed in 1922. As you might guess, they have been amended from time to time in the past 90 years to reflect changes in the Society, changes in the industry and changes in the world in general. The most recent alterations, adopted in 2011, changed the qualifications for membership and created new classes for membership. 

David Boardman elected president of ACEJMC

LAWRENCE, Kan. -- David Boardman, editor of The Seattle Times, was elected president of the Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications (ACEJMC) at the Council's May 3 meeting in Phoenix.
Boardman's term will begin in September 2014. He will be president of the American Society of News Editors next year but will be unable to serve two concurrent presidencies. 

ASNE Foundation pays tribute to the late Cruise Palmer

Unbeknownst to many, the ASNE Foundation was founded in 1979 due to a generous donation made by the longtime ASNE member and executive editor of The Kansas City Star and the Kansas City Times who passed away last month at the age of 93. As a result of Palmer's prominent role in the Foundation's history, the organization's board of directors passed a resolution in his honor at their April 6 meeting in San Diego.

Mark Silverman selected as Bradlee Editor of the Year

A longtime ASNE member and editor of The Tennessean, Silverman has been selected by The National Press Foundation to receive the Benjamin C. Bradlee Editor of the Year Award.

Scott Bosley gives the Batten Lecture at Davidson College

Professor of Public Policy, a chair named in honor of the late Knight Ridder executive. On Nov. 16, Bosley delivered the annual Batten Lecture, in which he discussed the pressures the news industry faces, the need for independent news reporting and the role of emotion in gaining and keeping audiences. Click on the attachment below for a copy of the lecture.

Ken Paulson honored by Missouri School of Journalism