Standing committees:

Brian McGrory, co-chair; editor, The Boston Globe
George Stanley, co-chair; editor, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel


Karen Peteron, co-chair; executive editor, The News Tribune (Tacoma, Washington)
Paul Cheung, co-chair; director of interactive and digital news production, The Associated Press (New York)

Community and Audience Engagement

Michael Oreskes, chair; senior vice president of news and editorial director, NPR


Mark Russell, co-chair; managing editor, The Memphis Commercial Appeal
Rene Sanchez, co-chair; editor, Minneapolis Star Tribune


Karen Magnuson, co-chair; editor and vice president/news, Rochester (New York) Democrat and Chronicle
Hollis Towns, co-chair; editor, NJ Press Media

First Amendment

Joyce Terhaar, co-chair; executive editor, The Sacramento Bee
Robyn Tomlin, co-chair; managing editor, The Dallas Morning News

Journalism Education

Lucy Dalglish, chair; dean, Philip Merrill College of Journalism, University of Maryland


Peter Bhatia, co-chair; editor, The Cincinnati Enquirer
Ron Smith, co-chair; managing editor/news, USA TODAY


Emily Ramshaw, co-chair; editor-in-chief, The Texas Tribune
Lauren Williams, co-chair; managing editor,
Manny Garcia, co-chair; east region executive editor, USA TODAY Network

Opinion Journalism

David Haynes, co-chair; editorial page editor, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
Miriam Pepper, co-chair; associate editor, Opinion in a Pinch
Task forces:


Mandy Jenkins, co-chair; news director, Storyful (New York)
Robyn Tomlin, co-chair; managing editor, The Dallas Morning News


Debra Adams Simmons, co-chair
Anne Vasquez, co-chair; chief digital officer, tronc, Inc. (Chicago)